Some eco Kickstarter projects that I love

Some months ago, I was brushing my teeth and wondering why light bulbs are so inefficient and how we have to throw them out when we’re finished. Also some of them contain mercury, which results in another environmental issue when trashed, and the lightbulbs contribute to mounting waste in landfills.

So I googled for the world’s most energy efficient lightbulb, just to see where we’re at, and I found this.

And I decided to back it. If all goes well, I’ll receive my lightbulb in a few months.

Since then, I’ve been visiting crowdfunding site, Kickstarter from time-to-time, to find out what innovations are on the market. Recently a Singaporean acquaintance listed his bamboo bicycle business on the site.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 2.05.41 PM

I decided to back it because I love that his Bamboo Bee bicycles are made from bamboo and it is a natural bicycle, it also provides for the livelihoods of bamboo artisans. And the product is beautiful, I recently saw it at the launch of co-working space, Ecosystem. If I had a spare US$800 lying around, I would buy one for myself. From US$600 on their Kickstarter page, one can get a complete single speed bicycle, although there will be additional costs for shipping outside of the US. The crowdfunding exercise is still open for a few more days, so if you wish to back his cause, visit Bamboo Bee’s Kickstarter page here.

P1200011

Another project that I’ve backed is the Landfill Harmonic documentary. Watch their video below.

They have 18 more days to reach their goal, and they are short of US$20,000. Every dollar counts, because if they do not hit their intended amount, they will not receive a single cent. So far, they have raised $155,000. You may back them here, if you wish to.

If you like helping others and don’t mind contributing monetarily to start-ups, check out Kickstarter and Indiegogo. There’s also Launcht, which supports social enterprises, and Three Revolutions, which supports agricultural projects, although the latter doesn’t have many projects listed at the moment. You can also consider loaning money to people who do not have access to the traditional banking systems, a couple of microfinancing sites you can consider include Kiva and Milaap.

Leave a Reply

