Writing my orbituary and eulogy address

Today I found out that an acquaintance of mine had passed away this year due to natural causes that he was aware of. Because I usually skip the orbituary pages, I had missed the news of his passing, and failed to learn about this on Facebook also. He was 39, and had written his own orbituary, organised the funeral down to a T. Just like my Grandpa did.

Just two weeks ago, Brenda urged Pam and I to write our own eulogies after attending a talk. She said it would be a very powerful exercise that would help identify what we’d like to achieve in our lifetime. She’s right, but I would choose to do so for another reason.

I have this thing about goodbyes, and so I will certainly write my eulogy address and orbituary, not forgetting a will, as a last goodbye to my friends. Ideally, my organs will be donated for transplantation purposes. And should I be cremated (depending of the remnants of my body from the donation), I would hate to go in a wooden coffin, so an eco coffin for me, please.  The incineration process is energy intensive enough as it is.

Life is a journey, and death isn’t the end. It is a transition to the next stage of life, and for those who believe it, we will meet once again on the soul plane and continue our journey in another lifetime. But while we are here on earth, we had better make good use of this time to do things that mean something to us. Otherwise, in my opinion, this is a life that is not worth living.

Image taken from stock.xchng

4 thoughts on “Writing my orbituary and eulogy address

  1. If you happen to kick the bucket whilst in Tibet, or parts of India, you could have your remains disposed off via a sky burial, which is very eco friendly since you enter the food chain as bird food:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sky_burial
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dakhma
    I would like that for myself but if i don’t happen to die there, then i don’t think it’s worth the carbon emissions to transport my carcass there to feed the birds.

    Another option is burial at sea where you can become food for crabs and lobsters. Not sure if it’s allowed here though.

    • Death in the cities can be so elaborate, huh. I heard some years back that there’s a place in Bali where people used to be left at the base of a sandalwood tree, and it wouldn’t stink when these people decomposed. Not sure that’s true though!

Leave a Reply

