The Game versus Why Men Love Bitches in real time

People play games with each other all the time. It’s a universal truth. When browsing the relationship section in any bookstore, books like The Game and Why Men Love/Marry Bitches are just some titles that jump out at you, and it seems that game playing is starting from an earlier age.

Many of you would probably know this, but I teach 17-18 year-olds at a polytechnic which I will not name. I did a quick poll on one group of my students, asking both male and female students if they would express their feelings to someone they’d been dating for a month. They said no, and unanimously agreed when asked if they would play the game.

When I was young, and even up till now, I have always been honest with the way I feel, and cannot understand why people play games. However, the more I speak to women, the more it seems that it is necessary to do so in order to condition men into treating them with respect. Ironic, isn’t it?

Of late, I was wondering if I should try it myself. Simple tricks like taking my time to respond to text messages, saying that I’m busy with activities when I’m dead bored and needing interaction, basically being very retroactive. Wow. It’s too hard. My phone is often on silent mode and I don’t realise I’ve received a text message anyway, so by default I’m already doing one of the above. I’ve also been actively planning meet ups with friends so I also appear like I’m so unavailable. In my case I suppose it is legit.

“Never be too eager,” I’ve been told. My friends have even forbidden me to respond immediately to a text message from someone I was keen on, whilst in their company. Hardcore, I say! But I relented and did not respond until I got the signal from my friend. Coming from a public relations background, it is going against my training of responding as soon as possible.

And the game never dies it seems. I have female friends still playing the game long into the relationship. Men, are way simpler it seems. They just play the game to get the cookie. How long they choose to stay, is another matter altogether.

The Game is a read for all women do not want to be on the receiving end of self esteem attacks or vulnerability traps by men. Since reading most of the book two years ago, I had a heightened awareness of how men approach women and execute their pick up. Anything more complicated than “hello”, I usually write off.

I once flipped through Why Men Love Bitches but with much resistence. It goes against my nature of being honest, but I’m told that it’s a very useful book that can transform a doormat into a dominatrix!

I suppose at the end of the day, it greatly depends on what kind of relationship one is after. Till today, I’m still holding out for true love, and a very simple one.

2 thoughts on “The Game versus Why Men Love Bitches in real time

  1. It does’t have to be that complicated. It seems to be a game only for people who are into dates after dates.

    Many others are honest with each other and end up with one or two relationships and get fixed for life.

    Sometimes, we get to see more , try more. And we lose sight of what we really want. Dang!

Leave a Reply

