Dating is hard work!

It’s no big secret that I have been going on dates with men, and perusing the scene. Just because I can, and also because I would like to get to know the other species better. It’s a bonus if I meet someone amazing but at the moment, I’m just happy to find someone I can share a hobby with!

To increase my chances of meeting a desirable partner, I’ve invested in a pair of mandarin ducks, a copper pyramid (to accelerate all my wishes), rudrakshas, and  to really push things along, I’ve organised with Emilie O, a Veggie Singles Night! Oh well, you can’t be too safe!! By the way the event’s next week, I can’t wait!

A few weeks ago, I went to what I thought was a harmless casual meeting with an aquaintance but by the end of the night, I felt like I had been on the best date, ever! All night long, we were flirting (he started it!), he paid close attention to every word I said, and made a real effort to make me laugh. I felt so safe and appreciated – oh damn, I couldn’t remember the last time I’d felt this way. This was so worth the $118 I paid for the dress I wore on the night! Even though the people at Warehouse bloody left the tag on and I had to pop by Raffles City to have it removed before meeting him (So, no, I didn’t wash the dress before wearing it)! Mmm classy!

During the taxi ride home, he held my hand briefly, and leaned in for a kiss on the cheek when it was time for me to go. The night didn’t end without receiving a text message from him saying it was nice to catch up, and that he was looking forward to meeting up again. What a gentleman, I thought, and I was dead impressed.

But all that changed when I did not hear from him after five days. I spoke to my girlfriends and manfriends for their opinion.

Women generally said, “Don’t call him no matter what!” and men said “forget about this guy!” One of my male friends said, “Wait two weeks”. One of my girlfriends said it best, “If a man really likes you, expect one way traffic. There is no need to contact him. Wait for him to call”.

True enough, this guy sent me a text message exactly two weeks from the day saying hello and asked to meet up to talk about working together.  Then he accused me of disappearing. Say what?

No matter how amazing someone is, two weeks is a dealbreaker. This guy is obviously “sport fishing”. I found the whole episode baffling because I don’t understand how one can make you feel like something is happening between the both of you then suddenly, nothing.  Flirting is fair game, I do it to my mailman, but crossing that line to romancing, then backing out, now that is so uncool. Or is it that I am really that bad at reading men? Looks like I have my work cut out for me!

This week I have lined myself up for a couple of dates, I hope these men do the right thing. Or I will just have to blog about them!!!

3 thoughts on “Dating is hard work!

  1. Veggie Delite! « I just don't know what to do with myself!

Leave a Reply

